Goals/motivation/Scope for Jobscraper

·

2 min read

Goal:

Create a tool that scrapes data from a bunch of job descriptions to attempt to answer the question: What programming languages are in demand for 2024?

Motivation:

To gain a better understanding of what languages companies overall seek. This is because from 2023-2024, lots of big companies aren't hiring. Typically, bigger companies can afford to advertise a role to have experience in any language.

As a job seeker with about a year's worth of experience, it's been hard for me to come across many jobs and see that I don't have the qualifications needed to do the job. I primarily like using Python for example, and want to apply for backend roles. However, when doing so, I see a lot of Java, C++, Go lang for these roles and I don't have enough experience to say "Yeah, I am proficient in these languages" when I don't even know the syntax. I was thinking about just swapping to Java in order to apply for these roles. So I wanted to make this tool to verify if my hunch was right. Being that for the backend, companies prefer the languages I listed instead of Python

Scope:

We will consider a job to require a programming language if and only if the job requires X years of experience OR a variation of words like this following list generated from chatGPT

  1. Proficiency with

  2. Experienced in

  3. Skilled in

  4. Knowledge of

  5. Familiar with

  6. Proficient in

  7. Expertise in

  8. Background in

  9. Prior experience with

  10. Hands-on experience

  11. Well-versed in

  12. Competent with

  13. Understanding of

  14. Track record with

  15. Ability to use

  16. Seasoned in

  17. Accomplished in

  18. Capable of handling

  19. Demonstrated experience in

  20. Advanced knowledge of

Scope:

For the time being, this will be a simple tool that will scrape job descriptions from Greenhouse, process the data scraped and output it into a spreadsheet of some sort. This will be a continuous thing like a CRON job that will maybe scrape every month or so.